Workers Compensation


Get More Information On
Workers Compensation
  • Reload

  • We promise to protect your privacy.
  • Should be Empty:

 

 

 

 

 

We currently have three Certified Workers Compensation Advisors and four Certified Workers Compensation Specialists on staff.

More

 

News

NCCI Proposes Increase For Workers Compensation Rates in Florida

On August 18, 2011, the National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) delivered its annual workers compensation rate filing to the Florida Office of Insurance Regulation (OIR). Based upon its review of the most recent data available, NCCI has proposed, effective January 1, 2012, an overall workers compensation rate level increase of 8.9%. More Information


NCCI Increases Primary-Excess Split Point in Experience Rating Methodology

At the Annual Issues Symposium 2011 in Orlando, FL, The National Council on Compensation Insurance (NCCI) Chief Actuary Dennis Mealy delivered his State of the Line report. This year's report outlines the continuing difficult trends facing the workers compensation industry and includes a "deteriorating" market forecast. Mealy shared the news that the primary-excess split point is increasing.

NCCI has recently conducted an "extensive review" of the experience rating plan. The experience rating shows "excellent results overall in performance testing for prior years". While several adjustments, such as changing the number of years in the experience period, were apparently considered, the only change will be to the split point:

  • The split point will be increased from $5,000 to $15,000 (trended) over a 3-year
    transition- (10k-13.5k-15k)

  • The split point will be indexed for claim inflation

  • Filing for these changes will likely be made in 3rd quarter this year (2011)

NCCI is currently seeking regulatory approval for this split point update under Item E-1402. Once approved, the filing will become effective with each state's loss cost (rate) filing, beginning 2013. More Information

Workers Compensation Process:

Cecil W. Powell & Company’s professional staff specializes in providing Workers Compensation Coverage and Services to all types of businesses. Our process is designed to help you navigate the known and unknown costs of worker injuries.

Experienced Mod Review

Audit Services

Pre-Loss Services

Injury Management

Post-Loss Services

Post-Loss Services

OSHA Compliance

Cecil W. Powell & Company provides you access to an on-line tool for:

Learn More

Safe Workplace Program

Cecil W. Powell & Company can help you build solid loss control and safety programs to help you stay on top of your biggest risk management and compliance challenges.

Downloadable Forms

Drug Free Workplace Credit Application
Florida Safety Program Credit Application
Confidential Request for Information (ERM-14)
First Report of Injury (DWC-1)
Election of Exemption (DWC-250)
Revocation of Election of Exemption (DWC-250R)
These products are sold and serviced by our experienced and professional staff:


Fitzhugh K. Powell, Jr., AAI, CRIS, CWCA
President
e-mail: fpowell@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0101
Faye Coleman, CIC
Senior Account Executive - Commercial Lines
e-mail: fcoleman@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0069
       


James C. Coleman III, CIC (Rock)
Vice President - Property and Casualty
e-mail: rcoleman@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0066
Gerry Lee, CWCA
Account Executive - Commercial Lines
e-mail: glee@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-2034


Russell Grice
Senior Account Executive -
Commercial Lines
e-mail: rgrice@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0072
Barry Whilden
Director - Large Accounts Division
e-mail: bwhilden@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0097


Susan Jordan
Senior Vice President -
Property & Casualty Division
e-mail: sjordan@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0075


Joanne Smith, CIC
Account Manager - Commercial Lines
e-mail: jsmith@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0089
Dora Paratore, AAI, CWCS
Account Manager - Commercial Lines
E-mail: dparatore@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0096
Tracy Kunz, CISR, CWCS
Account Manager - Commercial Lines
e-mail: tkunz@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0071


Terry L. Collins, CIC
Account Manager - Commercial Lines
e-mail: tcollins@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0067
Brenda Otto, CISR
Account Manager - Commercial Lines
e-mail: botto@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0085
Annette Evans, ACSR,CWCS
Account Manager - Commercial Lines
e-mail: aevans@cwpowellins.com
Direct Phone Line: (904) 256-0082


     

 

Participating Member In